New licensing and phone-homes

Hi

I’ve been checking into this new announcement. Firstly, it will be great to be able to activate the product in software, and be able to manage that activation process in our Steinberg logins.

However I have very grave reservations about the proposal to phone home, and require frequent revalidation of activations.

There’s a false premise in this decision: that surely nobody will be without internet access for 30 days. This is not the problem mechanism.

What we learned from Avid, is that if the software isn’t frequently used, and this 30 day expires whilst someone is not using the software, then as soon as they try to load it up, it has to revalidate the activation. Immediately (not some time in the next 30 days). This has a non-insignificant chance of failure for many reasons which I have 25 years experience with (being a proxy server vendor). So you don’t need to be without internet access for a month to trigger this. Only at the point in time that Dorico decides it must revalidate the activation or die trying. This can happen if you just don’t use the software for a while.

Check out the Sibelius users group on Facebook if you want to see what happens with this strategy. It has gained Steinberg a lot of disgruntled Avid refugee customers, who will now be back in the same boat. Being denied access to their legitimately purchased software.

If you look at it philosophically, if you have purchased a perpetual right to use some software, then how can it be justified to afterwards deny this if the activation revalidation fails? activation revalidation can fail for so many reasons. Local network problems, local admin policy (e.g. corporate proxy policy), X.509 certificate store issues, steinberg server issues, etc etc etc. Has Steinberg’s activation servers NEVER failed? Nope, they fail every time a new version is released. Can Steinberg guarantee the servers will still be running in 10 years? 15?