New PC build - would like sound card advice

I’m building myself a new rig primarily for gaming but I also just purchased the CI 2 and Cubase AI 5 that comes with it. I’m not planning on any kind of huge DAW, but I build mods for games such as Fallout 3, New Vegas and the soon to be released Elder Scrolls - Skyrim. So I thought I’d give Cubase a try for recording voice files for my upcoming projects. (I’ve been using Audigy and wanted something with more bells and whistles!) I am a musician however and will likely use Cubase for ambient audio tracks and foley type sound effects and what not.

My rig will consist of an i7 Sandy Bridge & most likely a Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3P, 8 GIG memory and I currently have a GTX 470 GPU. My extremely old Soundblaster needs to be replaced with something that will fit into my overall system. (It seems Soundblaster seems to be a curse word around here from my searches, lol. :blush: )

So, do any of you guru’s see a problem with my build in general, my overall type of use of Cubase and could also recommend a decent sound card? I don’t need tons of I/O as it’s basically only me. If it matters, I monitor through a pair of Bose 301’s on the shelves of my corner desk set up through a 200 watt JVC.

Also, one last note: I do have the CI 2 & Cubase up and running, but the Creative drivers are nowhere to be found in the Device Setup so I’m using the ASIO Direct X Full Duplex Driver. (I assumed it was because my card is so old.)

Anyway, thanks for any help and sorry for the wall-o-text.

The CI 2 is your soundcard!

Split will be along shortly to correct me if I’m wrong :smiley: .

As Scab said, the CI IS a soundcard so you don’t need anything else :slight_smile:
It’s also why you don’t need creative drivers in Cubase, you want the CI drivers instead. I expect they came on a disc that came with the CI.
What you need to do is connect your JVC amp to the outputs on your CI and you can use the inputs on the CI for recording.