New to Cubase and midi...having output issue.

Gday folk…I have been recording for some time…guitarist/songwriter. I was using N-track and thought it was time I joined the real world. I now have Cubase Elements 8 and am new to it. I am also new to midi. Oh and I have just bought a ur242…sweet.

Ok… the ur242 audio interface is working fine and I can record guitars and mics no problem in Cubase. But I’m obviously doing something wrong in setting up Cubase to recognize my Arturia Keylab 49 which is connected to my puder via USB. I can hear the keyboard through my audio interface but cubase gets nothing.

When I go to Device Setup/Midi Port Setup I can see that both my audio interface in and keyboard in are active. But in midi output only my ur242 is active. My keyboard in inactive. No output. So I’m thinking the fix should be simple yet I’m damned if I know what I’m doing wrong.

Ha, I’m feeling very noob stupid to midi…I can hear the keyboard but Cubase can’t.
Any and all suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Hiya,

Do you run up some Arturia software to make the sound when you play the keylab?

If so, then you need to get your head around how to create and play Virtual Instruments (VSTi’s) in Cubase because the instrument needs to be running ‘inside’ Cubase rather than standalone. Then you can direct Cubase to record the midi coming in and it will play back to the VSTi you have chosen, and you’ll hear the audio.

Mike.

Thanks for your reply Mike.

Yes I am running the Arturia software as I have a quite large selection of well emulated synthesizers in there being the reason I purchased this particular product in the first place.