New user questions/frustrations.

Hi,

I hope I don’t go into overflow with too many questions, but I doubt that will happen! I’m new to Cubase (I have Elements 6). My equipment is VERY modest: CI 1 USB interface for my guitar, Cubase Elements 6, Izotope Ozone 5 and Samson Studio GT monitors. Like I said… VERY modest.

I’m finding it difficult to get a good sound on other speakers after I “master” a track/export it to a WAV. I can generally make the song sound decent/not too bad when it’s up and running in Cubase through my monitors, backtracks, live guitar, etc… but when I listen to the WAV on other speakers, it sounds awful!

I guess the answer would be to take an audio engineering program, but I’m a musician, not an audio engineer (yet). Is it my equipment? I know it’s low end stuff, but it must be possible to get a somewhat decent master from this stuff?

I also don’t get the point of editing the waveforms? If a recording is bad, then the waveform can’t be fixed (?) If a recording is good, then why edit the waveforms in Cubase/Wavelab, etc? I’ve noticed on professional WAVs that the waveforms are very pretty and balanced looking. Is it possible for an amateur to get anywhere close to that? Where would I begin learning how to do this? I suppose I need $1000s of dollars of equipment to do that… ?

Thanks a lot for any direction at all/books to read, etc…

Chris

EDIT: My PC is a Windows 7 box, AMD 3.0Ghz Quad Core Black Edition, 8Gigs RAM and a solid state drive. It’s not too bad. Near brand new.

You don’t need £1000’s of gear but 1000’s of hours of experience.

I’ll attempt an answer, but it’s not the software you’re using. You may need to become more of an engineer though… Your gear does look all right at first glance, but it’s never one speaker system that gets you the result you want.