Newbie to Cubase but with some research

Hi everyone

Okay so to summarise my challenge, I’m trying to create a looped drum pattern in Cubase. I have Elements 7 which does not include Beat Designer so I can not create drum patterns in this regard. So far I have not been able to work out how to easily create drum patterns.

Previously in MIDI Key Editor I have recorded a pattern for four bars and then duplicated this by pressing the ALT key when highlighted and dragging this 4 bar pattern across however the pattern never aligns on the 1 count for the start of each 1st bar in the 4 bar sequence and thus it needs to be manually adjusted. Quanitizing doesn’t work either. I am wanting to do hip hop beats.

I can only see that I have to physically tap my keyboard for 3 mins to generate a drum pattern. I would like to make my own from either a VST (I have Battery 4).

I’m sure this is straight forward but I’m just learning the software (only had it for 4 days now).

Whilst trying to research exactly how I can do this without any information I found this video on youtube that may help other people stuck similar to myself that don’t have Beat Designer.

I am sure there are other ways. If someone knows please inform me.

Thank you

You’re on the right track with the Key Editor, or you could use the Drum Editor also to achieve the same result. However, here is a simple way to create a beginning to end drum loop without the tedium of copying and pasting, or even using the Repeat function.

We’ll take it for granted that you have a MIDI track pointed to your drum instrument, say Groove Agent One SE, which I believe comes with Elements.
So, while on your selected MIDI track use the Draw Tool to draw an initial Loop (1 bar, 2 bars, whatever you want to start with).
Then get into either the Key Editor or the Drum Editor and place your desired notes/hits.