No audio output on Cubase

Hello all,

I am having problems with my new Cubase 9 Elements software, and would be most grateful if somebody could offer some advice.

I am new to the Cubase family and am using it to record interviews. I have managed to set up a USB Mic thanks to advice given here (Elements 9 won't recognise microphone - Cubase - Steinberg Forums), and am now able to record audio after downloading an ASIO4ALL Driver.

However, I am unable to hear anything I have recorded. I have tested my headphones/in-built speakers using the sampler track keyboard, and again there is silence. I’m afraid I’m not used to such complex software, and so far have been unable to solve the problem.

I have been to Devices > Device Setup > VST Audio System > ASIO4ALL v2 > Control Panel, then selected the USB Mic instead of the inbuilt mic. This solved the first issue. However, I have tried both adding Realtek HD Audio Output and removing it in the Control Panel, but this has solved nothing.

I am very happy to finally have the mic working, but I would be very grateful for any help regarding the audio output.

Kind regards

Go to VST connections (F4) under the devices menu and open the output tab. There you have to configure your (stereo) output and choose the L/R output channels of the active device. In your case this should be ASIO4ALL v2 (Realtek HD Audio). The panel of ASIO4ALL is to configured additional settings regarding the driver. Not for the audio channels.

Also be sure to use the ‘Asio’ driver under devices for this gives you more stability and better performance/latency.

Hi Nickeldome,

Thank you for your help.

Unfortunately, when I go to the VST Connections and select the ASIO4ALL v2, I still have no output options. Under ‘Device Port’, My options for L and R are simply ‘Not connected 1’ and ‘Not connected 2’.