No Effects Only Dry Guitar

Hello Everyone,
I am a newbie to the whole DAW scene and am having a problem that is probably due to my ignorance and hope that I can get some help. I recently purchased a DAW that had the Cubase LE bundled with it. The program loads up properly and starts out with a virtual amp, etc. The problem is that my guitar only plays dry. I can’t seem to get the wet sound at all. If I go to the plug in manager and right or double click on anything nothing happens. I can play the drum loops supplied with the program (rock, blues or whatever) and they work perfectly, just no wet guitar sounds. Can anyone help?

The plugin manager is only for organizing your installed plugins in cubase. To use a plugin on your guitar track you need to select it on an insert slot in the inspector or the mixer console. There are also some other possibillities to use a plugin.
Please take a look in the cubase manual and read the sections about vst plugins and inserts.

Thanks Svengali for the advise, but I’m still having the problem. I’ve done a little more playing around and here’s what I’ve found. Following the set up instructions I downloaded an audio track and it plays perfectly. It will also play any midi loop perfectly. Unfortunately it won’t play anything else. I can bring in any virtual amp and move any of the controls, but with the guitar still being dry they don’t have any effect on my sound. I’m using a Focusrite DAW which seem to be working properly (the indicators lights work when I strum the guitar). I have the input set for mono L&R and the output set for stereo L&R using the Focusrite drivers. I’ve also tried using my onboard soundcard drivers with the same results. I know that the music industry likes the Mac better, but I already own a PC running Windows 10 which will run any other program perfectly. Any ideas will be greatly appreciated. Thanks again.