No sound from MIDI track with output to default system synth

Hello, I am a newbie trying to switch to Cubase from Cakewalk Sonar. Forgive me if my question is stupid, but I didn’t find an answer in the knowledge base and forums.

I use Cubase Elements 8.0.40 Build 623 (64 bit), trial version, Windows 10.

I created a new blank project, added a MIDI track, then added a part into it and typed some notes in the key editor. The output is routed to Microsoft GS Wavetable Synth (see the attached image). If I try to play the track, no sound is heard.

But if I switch the output to HALion Sonic SE, the sound appears. I did no other changes in Cubase preferences, only changed the output of a single MIDI track.

Why the difference? How to make Cubase produce sound through default Windows synth? All other software on my PC, including Sonar, works with MS GS Wavetable Synth perfectly, as well as the built-in audio player plays MIDI files with it.

(And please don’t ask why I’m striving for getting the sound from default synth and not from Cubase’s VST instruments.)

MS Waverable synth is a windows device, and thereforer outputs its sound through the audio device defined in the Windows sound options. You can trigger these sounds from Cubase, but you can not get them inside Cubase, other than routing the windows sounds back into Cubase either by loopback, or hardwired cable connection

Thank you svennilenni, but I’m afraid I don’t quite understand…

When I used Cakewalk Sonar, I managed MIDI tracks to output through Microsoft GS Wavetable Synth, and there were no issues. MIDI sound generated by that synth was perfectly heard from the dynamics.

Though a screenshot doesn’t provide sound :-), I tried to demonstrate a successful configuration in Sonar that I want to reach in Cubase. (Click on the thumbnail for a full size image.)

In Cubase, I tried to set the same settings, but it failed to make sounds.