No trolling here, i promise ... but this is a real question ... Major DAWS comparison

1st of all, i want to make myself clear, i don’t want to start a war about which DAW IS best. They all have PROS & CONS & i like working on each one as they all have a different approach.

So now,
I’ve been using Protools for 15 years, Ableton Live for as long as i remember, Reason for even longer. Today i cross-graded to Cubase 12 …
On the first day of use : 27 instrument tracks with a lot of EQ & Mixing process - 27 sample based instrument tracks & i’m only at a 3rd of my CPU … to be honest, i thought : . " oh cool, Cubase is pretty stable !! Nice !!" & that was it …

But then,
!!! After a week of use of Cubase !!! : for real guys, i must be doing something wrong with my other DAWS but here it is : 33 instrument tracks + 6 reverb buses + 8 Group VCA’s + each instrument track has an EQ & a send to its appropriate reverb bus + each group has 1 Eq 1 Comp & 1 Ozone instance + the Master bus has also 1 Eq 1 Comp & 1 Ozone …
The summing is somehow much more accurate.
The thing is,
I just can’t read such a project in Ableton Live, neither protools neither Reason !!! WTHeck !!!

For real guys !!! Am i doing something wrong with my other DAWS (all have the same settings : soundcard sample rate, external SSD’s 1 for read, 1 for write, 1 for cache etc etc) !???!!?

In cubase, i can play with the timeline, backward, forward, start & stop, play pause, mute solo, vst recall etc etc in live, the same for the modulation lanes… i just don’t have any problem at all when i get pops & cracks in my other DAWS …

Do you guys have noticed this abyssal difference of stability between Cubase & … every other DAW !!!

3 Likes