Norwegian (or scandinavian) keyboard issues

Hi, I’m a Norwegian composer, working on a daily basis with notation software. I’ve been using Sibelius for several years, but now I’m trying to convert to Dorico (because it has so much better … everything).

But, and there’s a big one, I am having a really hard time trying to find the correct key commands for several things. I’m using Dorico 2.1.1, with the keyboard setting set to German keyboard (closest to Norwegian). Is there any smart workaround for me, because there is a lot not working?

For instance - and this is extremely irritating - it is by no means possible for me to make the triplet pop-over appear (actually, not even by pushing the triplet button…). The key command is supposed to be Ø, or German ö (same key). But nothing happens.

Any help concerning this issue, and/or the keyboard problem in general is most appreciated.

• Jan Martin Smørdal

EDIT - To clarify: I am able to create a conventional 3:2 tuplet. But I’m stuck with that, no chance of making a quintuplet for instance.

Hi Jan Martin,
This is a known issue, and it has been explained in this thread among others. I fixed it once and for all with a program called Ukulele, and it hasn’t bothered me since. I think that’s your best solution until the QT developers fixes the issue.

My key command layout is based on the English one, with a few modifications for articulations, accidentals and enharmonic respelling. I find it to work quite well on my Norwegian keyboard. Let me know if you want me to share it!