Nuendo 11 Video Export is still limited to Project sample rate of 44.1/48 KHz!

Hello. I’m a game sound designer working for Rovio Entertainment. In my work in the gaming industry, it’s very useful to show and tell my work-in-progress content quite often to other team members. Video Export is a God-sent for this… or rather would be with an update.

What I don’t understand is: Why is the Video export function of Nuendo still limited to work only with a Project with a sample rate of either 44.1 or 48 KHz? How is that possible? Why can’t the video export resample its audio before the actual video encoding happens (just like you can select the actual sample rate of the exported audio files in Audio Mixdown, regardless of what your Project sample rate is)?

I’m always working in 96 KHz, so to do a video export in Nuendo, I basically have to have a separate 48 KHz Project for just video exporting. That’s very, very impractical and slows me down a lot.

Please Steinberg, can you guys make the Video Export function to work without being so clumsily limited to the Project sample rate?

2 Likes

Curious… do your video need to be in 24 bits 96kHz? For a video game? Or is it just to show it off to team members?

Dear noeqplease, you misunderstand me. Let me elaborate:

The video exports for a show-and-tell purpose don’t not need to be 96 KHz 24 bits in their audio tracks. Absolutely not. But the projects I do my sound design and editing on do have to be in 96 KHz because of several reasons - doing recordings and pitch shift processings in high quality are among the biggest ones.