Nuendo over cubase?

Hi Guys. Im new to Nuendo but am a long time cubase user. Recently I have started doing some audio post production for a friend who makes short videos and was wondering if I should move over to nuendo for these tasks. I mean its pretty simple stuff, voice over, music, background fx etc. But i was wondering if Nuendo has some features that are much better for this than cubase 10.5/11 or so - and if so would it be worth my while getting Nuendo as well?

Thanks for the help in advance!

Long time Cubase and Nuendo user here, and from what you describe in your post I would suggest that Cubase Pro should suffice.

If you want all options available then Nuendo is it. If you need to save money, and a few less Vsts and features, then Cubase.

I do music and sound design for games, and presently use Dorico for scoring and Cubase for stemming, looking at Nuendo for mastering and sound design. Working with the trial version, Perforce integration is nice, weā€™d ideally not use Wwise, Iā€™d love Unreal engine integration, and thereā€™s a lot of audio to cut scenes that I need to do (e.g. video). Thoughts?

Also - is there a grace period right now if I go ahead and get a license for 10?

yes - you will get 11 when it is released next week

Iā€™ve done what you are looking to do - I used Cubase 9.5 & 10 for a few film/tv projects then switched to Nuendo because I thought it would be a better workflow. Iā€™ve spent more time on these forums since I switched to Nuendo 10.3 looking for resolutions to itā€™s awful performance compared to Cubase. (mac mini i7 3.2, 64 gig ram, focusrite red4pre, blackmagic multidock) Now my best shot is to pay Steinberg more $$$ or switch to another daw. If your projects can pay for a Nuendo licence & you keep your Cubase license, donā€™t hesitate. Otherwise, if itā€™s stable, stick with Cubase until you know you need Nuendo.

1 Like