Offline Render dependency of latency settings

Hello there,

according to this article

the time for offline render for Mixdown, freeze and render in place depends on the latency settings (buffersize) of your ASIO Driver. The smaller the buffer the longer it can take to render offline :question:
This doesn’t make any sense to me.

I am not really understand why this is relevant for offline rendering. For what i understand is that offline rendering was invented to be independent from system recources so that you can have a perfect mixdown for a projekt that whould’nt be able to play in realtime. And i also can perform an offline mixdown without even selecting an AsioDriver.

So maybe some of the Steinberg employees can explain this?

best regards

Novik

Hi,

I’m not an expert in this area, but it make sense to me.

Even if you use an offline Export/Render, you have to take the data from he hard drive, put itto the RAM, and process it. If the buffer size is smaller, you have smaller blocks, you transfer from the hard drive to the RÁM and you have to do this more often. Probably the “way” from the HDD to the RAM costs a time.

Next, what I could imagine, the computer can maybe use more CPU power with the highest Buffer Size. There is more data in the RAM to process, so the CPU can divide it better to the different cores, and process it more effectively. Maybe the CPU could be also waked up, for these tasks (because more tasks come at once).

But as I mentioned, I’m not expert at all, and I will be glad to learn something new.

Hello Martin,
thx for your answer.
The Asiodriver has the purpose to give access to the Audiointerface in Realtime in Both directions. From the DAW to the Interface into the analog outsideworld or from outside into the DAW and ultimately on the HDD. All this is realtime dependent and the buffersize determines how larg the chunks are measured in samples. the larger the chunk the higher the latency.