Old user left behind in Cubase 6

I’d like to hear if other users feel like this. Let me know if this discussion is/has been happening elsewhere.

Please let’s not get into a blame game one way or the other about this, I don’t care who should have done what, only what my options for going forward.

I have been using Cubase for a few years both 4 and 5. I was extremely satisfied with 5 so it was only last month I decide to go to 6 to take advantage of the audio quantizing feature for drums . Having installed it I opened a 5 project in 6 and proceeded to lay down some lanes for a guitar part for comping. When I converted the lanes to a part and opened it to edit I got a shock. Nothing worked the same. I couldn’t get on with my work. I spend about half my time in Cubase 5 in the part editor and all the acquired skills that kept me int he warm bath of my right brain enterprise without having to drop into a cold shower of Manuals, tutorials and things that don’t work without friction were gone. So my first response was, export all the lanes to wav files and drag them into C5 so I can get back to work. This is my current workaround: Back to familiar, friendly Cubase 5.

So I have two questions:

1. Is it reasonable and friendly on the part of Steinberg’s developers to make a key feature like comping work so differently in a new release that users with 1000’s of hours of practice with the old (and very good) way are assumed to be willing and able to drop their work in process and dive into manuals to figure out the new (and no doubt also very good) paradigm? I have work to do. I also HATE manuals and tutorials and am normally willing to go there to learn NEW useful skills. Why isn’t there an option to revert to the C5 style part editor? Much as I like Cubase this makes me start to wonder if some other DAW might suit me better.