one midi track to control several VST Instruments (and more than just 4 via midi sends)

Not much on the web about getting more than 4 midi sends going from one midi track, so in case anyone is looking for how to set up one midi track that controls as many VST instrument tracks as you want, here is a workaround I found. The catch is that you need to own Reason and use the reason rack to do my method. Im pretty sure there are other VSTis out there that can do the same thing so this can likely be done with other VSTi’s that feature Midi out and midi thru. I’d guess that Kontakt must be able to do this too, but Im not sure how to set it up in Kontakt. Heck, there might even be a built in VSTi in Cubase that you can do this with (im new to Cubase so I dont know this Halion and groove agent stuff at all yet). Anyway, here is how I do it with Reason Rack:

Step 1: Create an instrument track with Reason Rack. Load a “Midi Out Device” in the reason Rack. That’s all you need to to do with reason rack. By doing this, you have essentially turned this instrument track into a midi track wih a super power: it shows up in other instrument tracks as a midi input!

Step 2: So now, create an instrument track with whatever VSTi you want. In the Inspector window on the left, set the input of this newly created instrument track to be the reason rack track’s “Event Out”. Also make sure to enable the track monitor, which is that little speaker thing you can turn on an off. It’s in the same area as the track name.

Repeat Step 2 as many times as you’d like.

haha cubase is such a weird DAW.

Does anyone have a workaround better than this? Maybe something that is built in already and doesn’t require a third party vsti?

Hi,

If you route 4 MIDI Sends to a MIDI Track and enable 4 MIDI Sends on all 4 MIDI Tracks and route them to other 4 MIDI Tracks, you can get up to 16 MIDI Send Destinations. And of course, you can continue with the cascading endlessly: 256, 65.536…

Hi Martin -