Orchestral percussion notation question

I’m creating a part for suspended cymbal which often changes back and forth between a “normal” beater (i.e. a felt headed mallet I assume) and a snare drum stick.

A neat way to show the changes would be use two different note heads. Is there a “standard” convention for this? Obviously the score will have a text description of the notation used, but there’s no sense doing it different from the rest of the world just for the sake of it.

This is a single-line staff instrument with its own player, not part of a drum kit.

Just text will do, please and thank you. Percussionists are known to be laid back and willing to roll with it, but I’m sure the musician will be grateful. You might have more luck with pictograms rather than different noteheads, but, as an editor, I am very reticent about allowing them unless the composer can really make his case.

Well, the problem with “just text” is the sheer volume of annotations. That is bad enough in the MS score, but condensed into the part, in some places the notes would be almost buried by the text when the specified beater changes every two or three notes - and even looking at this as a non-percussionist, the composer didn’t add all those performance directions just for fun.

Pictograms rather than different noteheads could be worth exploring, though. Thanks for that idea!

Well, I do concede that there is certainly more to it than it seems at first sight. I mean, if it’s stumping you, it’s no doubt a tricky instance of the problem. If it really is dense (even with abbreviations?), than I could definitely suggest pictograms with a bit more confidence.

Maybe it would be easier to actually notate it on two lines? I assume the intent is one beater in each hand?

Well, my “experience level” with percussion notation is about the same as it is with chord symbols - on a scale of 1 to 10, somewhere around 1 :slight_smile: