Over value of notes in a bar

Hi, I’m new to Dorico. I’d like to put notes like the picture above, but I can’t find the way to put 8th notes with a 32nd rest. Is there any way to put in this kind of notation?

Welcome to the forum.

Oof, this is quite the challenge, but yes, it’s possible via hidden tuplets.

What you’re eventually aiming at is this:

or with the tuplets hidden and the first 32nd rest removed, this:

The downstem voice - in my example Fs and Abs - is just a bunch of 6:4 32nd note tuplets. Hopefully you’ve already got that far.

The upstem voice is obviously tricker, though it may be that someone brighter than me has a better solution.

The challenges are:

1. The first upstem eighth must start a sextuplet 32nd note after the downbeat. This means each eighth must be housed within a tuplet (because you need a tuplet for the hidden rest).
  2. All of the eighths must be notated as single eighths, not as something tied to something else. This means each eighth must be housed within one tuplet.
  3. The final eighth takes up less real time than the other eighths. This means it has to be housed in a separate tuplet to the other eighths. If you sort of average out the numbers and make all the eighths the same length, a) they won’t line up with the other voice and b) playback will be wrong.

Start by putting the caret in Upstem Voice 1, then type ; 9:6e Enter. This tells Dorico to create a tuplet that has nine eighths in the time of six eighths, and this is necessary in order to be able to nudge the caret along a single tuplet 32nd to the right.

Type 3 Space. This nudges the caret along by a single tuplet 32nd.

Type ; 4:6e Enter. This is effectively counteracting the 9:6 tuplet you already have, in that it’s returning what would be dotted eighths to their real eighth note values.

Type your first four pitches.

With me so far?

Type ; 2:3x Enter