PC, hard disk/ssd setup

Hi all,
I have been working with Cubase for several years but so far had installed Cubase as well as all my VST plugins and libraries on the same hard drive. As I am buying a new computer right now (Dell XPS 8900 with i7, 32 GB) I would like to set up my system in the best possible way. The new desktop computer has an internal 256 GB SSD as well as a 2 TB 7200 rpm hard drive. Additionally, I have bought a Samsung Portable SSD T1 (USB 3.0) with 1 TB.
As I own a substantial amount of plugins and larger orchestral libraries I was wondering what the optimal way is to set up the system… I believe the new Dell has windows preinstalled on the hdd, not the SSD. Questions:

1. should I download Cubase on the internal SSD?
  2. how about the plugins/libraries? Initially, I didn’t plan to buy a new PC (that’s why I bought the external Samsung SSD), but my older one broke down. Should I install the plugins/libraries on the internal HDD or the external SSD? Maybe this is a stupid question, but would the HDD be quicker being internal vs. external, or is the SSD quicker even being external and connected via USB 3.0? Anything else to consider in the setup using several hard disk drives?
  3. should I save projects on the third drive or can it be on the same as the libs?
  4. Do I need to start from scratch and download/install all my plugins (30+) once more or can I copy from my old hard drive somehow?

Thanks for your support.
Martin

1 - Put the os and programs on the internal ssd. The best benefit to get from an ssd is the quick boot and opening of programs. You should be able to run many many audio tracks on a regular 7200 rpm disk without any problems.

2 - Put project/audio files on the internal 7200 disk.

3 - Put sample library on the usb3 ssd.

You might be able to switch 2 and 3 without any problems - depends on how intensely you use sample libraries.

-Tom

Hi Tom,
Thanks a lot, very much appreciated!
Martin