PCI vs PCIE express cards

Hi, okay, I am learning about PCI audio interfaces and as of now that seems like the way to go for PC

I would love a thunderbolt system, however it looks like it will be a while for that option

So my question is, because I can’t seem to find it on RME’s site

There are two different sections available on the site
PCI&cardbus

PCI express.

What is faster? Which versions of PCI do the different cards use? I can’t seem to locate that information

I am looking to get the lowest latency possible.

I have three Mics and an electric guitar
so for now a MIC Pre with 4-8 Inputs with Phantom power and a guitar line should suffice
I would like to expand in the future, but for now I am good with at least 4 inputs

Any reccomendations, obviously a less expensive route is better. I am a solo artist recording indie folk music
and use MIDI as well as audio.

Don’t need anything Fancy, I have decent MICS two SE electronics 4400A and one SE1A

An Sl Keyboard for Midi. Thanks

PCI express (or PCIe) is newer and faster than PCI. Unless you specifially picked a motherboard that has legacy PCI slots, you probably can’t use a PCI card on your computer.
Also a cardbus is usually only found on older laptops so that’s of no use to you either.

PCI is not a good choice, it’s outdated, there is no more PCI slot in new motherboard til some years…and even if you find a “older” (4/5 years motherboard) the PCI slot are bridged and not working good so you must find a PCIe. USB is fine too but if you looking for very low latency choose a RME PCIe

Man the industry for PC based solutions is getting worser and worser. Instead of adopting and organizing good alternatives (USB 3.1 / Thunderbolt) they made a mess of the whole situation.

It almost forces me to consider a MAC, because all thunderbolt cards are available for MAC’s and only a few for the PC platform.