Pitch before duration and 5 instead of 6 for a quaver (as in Finale)

Hello community,

i am a professional engraver and Finale crossgrader as you can see, have been using Finale for over 20 years now.
I am quite fast in Finales speedy entry and was very lucky when in some Sibelius version there was an option to switch to Finales keyboard layout and entry behaviour (Bad habits, but a matter of workflow if you have to sometimes work in different programs)

Is there, or will there ever be an option to switch it that way in Dorico, would be a killer feature for me:

Pitch before duration and key 5 instead of 4 for a quaver

Cheers,
Jörg

Hi all
I have same problem🙃

You mean 5 instead of 6, right?
You can change those key commands in the preferences > key command
Type quaver in the search field and change the value. You might want to change all rhythmic values though

Yes, that’s right, sorry!

Ok, that’s one step in the right direction,
but it’s not possible to change the behavior to first specify pitch and then duration?

This is a screenshot from Sibelius 7.5 Preferences, this works quite nice for me

At this time you cannot use pitch before duration in Dorico. The subject has been raised, but AFAIK it has not been scheduled.
I wish this were not so, but one has to admit that there are more important capabilities that users are waiting for.
I’m sure the team will get to it eventually.

Dorico is quite different from Sib or Fin in many aspects, and Daniel has explained that it’s worth to try the Dorico way — i.e. forget the habits from other software and try to understand the musical logic they stuffed into Dorico

Take a breath and dive!