Play range of the viola

I’m pretty new to Dorico and I have to say I like it a lot, mainly the engraving function.
So far I’ve encountered one issue (the rest is my lack of knowledge with the program…): the play range of the viola is totally incorrect. As it is presented in Dorico, it would be an extremely limited instrument. I solved the problem by switching of the colors of the unplayable notes, but that would have consequences on playback of course. Fortunately, I don’t need Dorico for playback, since I do that carefully and detailed in Studio One Pro.
Is there a way to correct the play range of an instrument? (I’ve seen similar topics for other instruments on the forum here.)

The colours for the range are ‘advice’ only. They don’t affect the printed page or exported graphics. If you don’t need playback, then just turn off the colours for instrument range. (View > Note And Rest Colors.)

But I’m interested to know how you think the viola range is limited. Not high enough?

Good advice…

Actually it would be nice to set up the playback range in the corresponding Expression Map, since ranges vary between different products – e.g. some piccolos go down to D, others to C.

You can specify the standard and advanced ranges by modifying your instruments.xml file. I don’t think this is officially supported so make a backup of the file first, but it works fine.

I hadn’t thought about this before, but you could set up several instruments.xml files with ranges set for different configurations, then copy and rename whichever one you wanted to use be the actual instruments.xml file before starting Dorico. That way the colored out of range notes could reflect the range of your VST instruments, and not of actual performers.

1 Like

@Fred I’d click ‘like’, but the idea of editing XML…