Please help me transfer my score from Nuendo to Dorico

I am able to get the score pretty close to what I want in Nuendo, but when I export it into Dorico it shows up with the bass clef (left hand) whole notes split into 8th notes with straight lines connecting them to the treble (right hand) notes.

I’m sure there must be a simple fix for this but I am unable to find it after hours of searching. I am new to this and would really appreciate any help to make my Dorico score look like my Nuendo score.

I tried the XML export/Import option because when I try to import the MIDI file into Dorico it shows up as a flute instrument, and I can’t for the life of me figure out how to change it to a piano staff. Is there a way to change the default midi instrument on import?

Here are links to the exported Nuendo Score PDF, the exported Dorico score PDF, the XML file, and the MIDI file.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Nuendo PDF

Dorico PDF

XML

MIDI

You’re better off with MusicXML than MIDI.
After you’ve brought it into Dorico, go to Setup mode (if you’re not already there), click the disclosure arrow to the right of the Flute player in the left panel, then right-click on the Flute instrument and go Change Instrument. Search for Piano and hit OK.

Does that get you where you need to be?

I was able to change the instrument to piano thanks to your help, but the chord notes are still split up into 8ths with lines connecting them to the melody notes.

It also doesn’t follow the staff midi note split point that I set up in Nuendo - so that the left hand is on the bass staff and the right hand on the treble staff.

I’ve attached a screenshot of what it looks like after changing the instrument from flute to piano.

I suppose I need to spend a few days watching tutorials and reading the manual, I just thought that what I wanted to do was pretty simple…