Plugin Development Dorico

First I wish to congratulate you all on the latest release of Dorico, I’ve started using Dorico since 3.5, and since 4.0 it has become my defacto way writing music replacing previously my DAW workflows, as well as all my prior explorations with Muse Score, and other notation apps. Your interface is incredibly intuitive and simply put I can be 10x more productive in your app than anything else.

A little about me, I am primarily a developer / technologist, and secondarily a hobbyist composer (since COVID lockdowns). I’ve been studying music non-stop for nearly 4 years now and I know I could easy do another 40 and still learn more.

From my experience as a developer, I know notation software can do better. Take a look at simple things in IDEs like intellisense that make “intelligent” suggestions about the next thing to type in, or the latest technologies around coding assistants that use AI to suggest dozens of lines of code.

I’d love to have a similar feature in Dorico. Rather than memorise all of the rules / guides around writing music, harmony, melody, etc… I’d love to have an intellisense style pop up that offers suggestions depending on the emotion you’re trying to hit.

I know I can write one and wouldn’t ask Steinberg to do it, but sadly Dorico offers no plugin system.

It looks like I could do this in MuseScore, particularly given it’s open source, but I would much rather invest my time and energy into Dorico if I had the opportunity .

Cutting to the chase, are Dorico plugins something on the horizon in the next year? Or should I take my energy over to MuseScore and try my luck with that instead?

1 Like

Welcome to the forum, @Sudoku_Sleuth. We definitely plan to build out an API for script plug-in development in Dorico in future, but I’m afraid I can’t provide any specific indication of when this will come.