Possible to route to a "monitoring bus?"

Hello, I’m demoing cubase 11 essentials. On windows 10, scarlett 3rd solo. Is there anyway to route audio channels/tracks to a monitoring bus? I’m a solo musician, and I find it too fiddly to have to keep turning monitoring on just so that I can jam and write something. I have seen other people on youtube have a monitoring bus in cubase, wondering if it’s possible on essentials or will this fall under the control room feature found in the pro version? I’m really enjoying my time in cubase, but If I’m unable to do this, then it’s a dealbreaker for me.

Hi and welcome to the forum,

You can change the Preferences > VST > Auto Monitoring option to While Record-Enabled. Then, once you select any Audio track, the Record-enable becomes active automatically (thanks to the Preferences > Editing > Project & Mix Console > Enable Record on Selected Audio Track) and the Monitor also becomes enabled with it.

Just be careful with the acoustic feedback with this settings. And of course, you have to disable the Monitor, once you want to play back, what has been recorded into the track.

Thank you for replying. I have tried that option, but it wasn’t suiting my workflow. I’ll try it again and see if I can adjust, I mapped monitoring to a keyboard shortcut, but i find having to keep paying attention to it a bit cumbersome…

What about videos I see of people having a separate monitoring bus? how is that done?

maybe you mean Elements…

what exactly do you mean with it?

there are more options available…
tape machine style fits my workflow best…
enables monitoring together with the record enable and disables it during playback

-Yes, I mean elements, sorry, long day. :slight_smile: