Problem combining Percussion and expression maps

Hi everyone,

Is it possible that Dorico cannot handle combined playing techniques when using Percussion and expression maps at the same time?

I would really be grateful if someone could tell me if I’m doing something wrong or if it is just not possible!

Here’s a simplified version of my setup:
I have a cymbal with different mallets (VSL). Each mallet is in a slot selected by program changes and each mallet uses the same pattern : rim hits in the C3 octave, center hits in the C4 and top hits in C5.

1. Percussion playing technique:
    Rim under the line, Center on the line, top over the line

2. Percussion maps:
    E3 rim
    Bb3 rim + tremolo
    E4 natural
    Bb4 tremolo
    E5 top
    Bb5 top + tremolo

Up to there everything works as expected. Then I add the following expression map:

1. Expression map: (base or add-ons, same result)
    Natural: program change 0
    Soft mallets : program change 1
    Hard mallets: program change 2

With this, Dorico will select the right mallets and will play the right sound as long as it correspond to a single playing technique, but not with combined playing techniques. So “rim, natural, tremolo, top” will trigger properly but not " rim + tremolo " or “top + tremolo”.

Anyone knows why?

A lot of thanks!

Yes, right now Dorico doesn’t handle the use of expression maps to modify the percussion map. It’s something we would like to improve in future, one way or another, since there are certainly situations like this one where controller changes or program changes are required to access specific sounds.

Can you be more specific about your VSL product? I use the old percussion library and sticks are switched by CC1, not Program Change. I’ll share maps if we’re on the same page…

VSL is not a Dorico product. Vienne Symphonic Ensemble and other VSL sounds are products of Vienna Symphonic Library.