Problems changing instrument

I am a complete newbie – Finale since the 80’s but day 2 of Dorico (this will be worth it). I am trying hard to RTFM before resorting to this forum!

I started out my first piece selecting Piano as my instrument (grand staff, two staves). Then I decided, "no, this needs to be an organ piece (THREE staves: grand staff + pedal (bass clef) staff). So I selected Setup view and changed the instrument to Organ 3 staves. But no pedal staff is showing up.

What might you suggest?

Thank you in advance,

Don’t worry, William, we welcome Finale refugees here and we will be gentle with you :slight_smile:

I just tried this and I found that the extra third staff appears as expected. Perhaps give this specific procedure a try:

1. Switch to Setup mode.
  2. Expand the card belonging to the player with the Piano instrument.
  3. You’ll see the small label that says ‘Piano’. Hover the mouse over this so the chevron > appears.
  4. Now click and from the context menu choose Change Instrument.
  5. Choose Keyboard > Organ > 3 staves from the picker.

That should do it! If it doesn’t, please feel free to zip up your project and upload it here and I’ll take a look for you.

The steps you enumerated are what I did. I also tried closing my file/Dorico and relaunching/reloading … still no pedal staff. Attached please find my dorico zip file. I am grateful for your help!
delta.zip (497 KB)

William, I think you’ve uncovered a bug, as I can replicate this here with your project and with a trivial new project:

1. Create a Piano.
  2. Add some notes.
  3. Ensure that the lower staff contains more than one voice, like so:

1. Try changing instrument to Organ. It doesn’t appear to give you a third stave.

In reality, it DOES give you a third stave: if you select anything on the lower stave of the grand staff and hit M, the pedal stave will appear and the note will cross-stem down accordingly.