Progressive rock: “Dream Eternities”

You guys had such helpful input on the last song I got done mixing, regarding stuff I missed. This is one that I’m close to being finished with.
The song was started in 2019 in Cubase 10 probably. Most instruments were recorded and the mix was done in 2022 in Cubase 12.
Dream Eternities

Right off the bat, I like the fretless bass part and placement here, but I have to say the intonation isn’t always spot on. I’m mentioning that because the part is so prominent, so that intonation issue comes across often. As an often fretless bassist myself, I’m quite sensitive to that, and very aware that it’s not so easy to always be on! The old joke is that fretless bass playing is kind of like being asked to walk the line in a police roadside sobriety test, but there are no lines!
I’m a huge 70’s prog fan, and that music plus 70’s fusion is where I cut my own teeth. I’ll guess you may have had something like Yes’s Run Through the Light from Drama in your mind with this. Trevor Horn played fretless on that. Your guitar sound reminded me at times too of Steve Topping.
I definitely liked this, and applaud your work, but you may want to revist the bass part a bit. Did you do all of these parts yourself? If so, even more kudos to you.
John

Thanks for the heads up. I’ll take a close listen to the bass part. It sounded fine to me but my ear might not be as trained to pick that up. Yeah, no fretless bass part is going to be perfect. But I hoped at least all the sustained notes were good.

I did play the bass, all guitars, and sang all the vocals.

I’ll have to look up Steve Topping and give him a listen. Thanks.

Here’s another quick thought on the existing fretless part-lot’s of fretless players have used a chorus effect. I’m not sure if you did, or how much might already be there, but one thought might be to play around with the amount of chorus on that existing part. I might potentially be somewhat more forgiving relative to the intonation.