project setup bit depth

I need some clarification from someone who knows what’s going on under the hood of this very capable program. I’m kind of new to Cubase as a primary DAW so thanks in advance if this is too basic a question.
Does Cubase 6 use 32 bit floating point internal processing for operations such as changing gain of an event and crossfades regardless of the bit depth settings in the project set up page?
I track using 24bit converters so I assumed that was the bit depth I should choose but I wonder now if I should be at 32bit for the best fidelity when I’m mixing or even just changing gain. My computer is very capable and pimped out with ram etc. so I’m more concerned with fidelity than conserving cpu resources.

Thanks

It processes at the max. But best not to set it at max as you’ll be saving huge files. 24 does me but lots of other users use 32.

Thanks, I’m sorry if I sound dense here, but when you say it processes at the max are you saying it processes at 32 bit floating regardless of the bit depth setting in the project page?
While I’m asking pesky questions, what’s the upside of saving files as 32 bit floating?

Yes internal resolution is 32 bit even if you record at 24bit.

32bit float isn’t worth bothering with in my opinion…though I’m sure some will disagree.

FWIW I believe a lot of people (certainly myself in the past) tend to question the quality of recording or playback or mix engine etc when actually it’s their inexperience in mixing that leads to poor quality output. Poor tracking with cheap mics & lots of EQ boosts in a mix will soon make a track sound crappy & what people might perceive as digital.

Not saying this is you though…sorry if that’s drifted a bit OT.

Thanks Grim. You make a good point, but according to those that know much more than me, even the most pristine tracks and mixes can be degraded by truncation and other bad objective stuff that can happen deep in the number crunching phase of a DAW or digital device.