Protools elastic audio vs Cubase audio warp Part 2

Hi there to anyone interested.

I started off answering another thread on the same topic, but decided to rather start a new thread here. I’ll look at elastic audio, but also other areas where some of the protools features almost turned me to The Darkside.

I’ve been running a studio in JHB South Africa for many years now. My main software has always been Cubase (Starting with SX1). A few years ago a multimedia college (Citi Varsity) moved in next door and hired me to do Music and Cubase lectures part time to their audio students. The course covers Protools, Cubase and Reason as the main softwares, so I have become very familiar with protools the last few years.

There is a constant comparing of Cubase to Protools by both students and lecturerers :slight_smile: . In my opinion Cubase smokes protools in most areas except Grouping, Spotting and Elastic audio.

The grouping features in protools speak for themselves. Way more advanced than what Cubase has to offer, no chance of even arguing there :frowning:

Spotting means move audio clip and video follows. In Cubase you have to move the play transport line thingy to find your spot point , then move your audio afterwards. A bit sucky, no arguing there :frowning:

And finally the elastic audio in Protools compared to Cubase Audio warp. Firstly, Protools can do mulitrack stretching which Cubase cannot. No arguing there :frowning:

But its also the speed at which you can access and warp quantise in protools, in the arrange page, and more so the accurate manner in which it works that impressed me. (And I really didn’t want to be impressed)

For example in cubase, say I record myself playing a bass, guitar, bongo drum (anything really as long as its no more than a stereo file) for a song. By the end of the song I’ve dropped in say 4 or 5 times and have several clips. If I want to quantise that audio to the grid here are the steps I need to take…