question about transposing by diatonic interval (not working as I would expect?)

I have a section of a piece with the key signature of A major. I wanted to take the following line:

and transpose it up by a “diatonic interval” of a third, and have specified this in the Transpose window. However, after doing so, this is the result I’m getting:

and I was wondering if anyone could explain why. I’m specifically curious why the program transposed the G to a Bb instead of a B? I know the source was a flattened 7th in the key of A, but aren’t I asking it to transpose to the nearest diatonic pitch regardless, when it does the transposition?

Thanks for any clarification!

• D.D.

I think you have a great question…

I have just tried playing with it myself, and it takes into account the altered note, and retains that altered note in the transposition.

Might I suggest, while holding ALT, hit the up arrow twice? This moves the notes diatonically up with each arrow push.

Robby

I am no expert of the area, but my understanding is that it transposes with a diatonic interval, rather then transposing with an interval that will result in a diatonic pitch. In A major, the diatonic third on the 7th degree will be a minor third.

I use “Number of Divisions” rather than “Quality”, and that seems to work well.