(Question) regarding playback technique combinations

Hi,

I’m new to Dorico so I must be missing something important here regarding playback technique combinations. I thought that if I add a playback technique combinations (not a single playback technique, for example a trill + accent rather than trill alone, because I want to trigger very specific sound that is at the same time trill and accented), AND if I give a note a trill + accent, it should trigger that very sound (accented trill). But it seems like Dorico doesn’t get this and simply play the normal trill.

Am I missing anything or am I misunderstanding the function entirely? Thanks!

Albert

You’re not misunderstanding entirely, but when Dorico triggers a sampled trill, it triggers either a half-step or a whole-step trill, each of which has its own playback technique, so you need to define combinations for both of those.

1 Like

I’m afraid that is not the case, since I’m using orchestral tools library, where there is only one trill triggered by one keyswitch (there are others like trill single & trill sforzando, but no separation between half-step trill & WT trill). The interval of the trill is determined via CC3. So I don’t see why I need to define combinations for both. So these are the steps I’ve done so far (to create trill sforzando):

1. Creating a playing technique called trill short, which already existed in the trill tab on the right zone but not in the wind technique.
  2. Assigning it to a newly created playback technique also called trill short
  3. In expression map, create a base switch with combination sfz + Trill short, and rought the keyswitch to B-2 which is trill sforzando in Sine Player.
  4. In write mode, create a note with the trill short and sfz.
    Screen Shot 2023-01-14 at 00.10.24
  5. Hit play but dorico playbacks natural.