Questions about using Nord Stage 3 in Cubase (MIDI)

Hey everyone!
First of all, I apologize if this has already been asked before. I am a complete newbie to everything related to music production, synths, DAWs, MIDI… Still learning the very very basics and I still don’t fully understand most of the posts here, so basically I think I need someone to explain this to me in a REALLY basic way. :slightly_smiling_face: :upside_down_face:

So, I connected my Nord Stage 3 directly to my laptop using the USB cable and I’m trying to record it in a DAW (Cubase Pro 9.5). I have managed to record it as audio and now I’m trying to record it in a MIDI format.
So far I’ve encountered 2 issues:

1. I want to use the Nord synth sounds, and record it as MIDI in Cubase, so I can have the notes appearing in the Key Editor. How do I do that? I did the following steps: “add track” (MIDI track), but when I play I hear not only the Nord sound, but also some sounds from other Instrument tracks mixed. For example: I had an instrument track (Retrologue, drum sounds) and I created a MIDI track for Nord (organ sound). When I play the Nord I hear the organ mixed with drums :? What am I doing wrong? :flushed:
  2. I also want to use the Nord as a MIDI controller, just to play notes but using the synth sounds from Retrologue, Kontakt, and other VST instruments. I had no idea how to do it, but just now I tried using an empty Nord program with no sounds in an instrument track, and I think it worked for now (the only sound I hear is the VST). Is this the correct way?

Thanks so much!! :+1: :nerd_face:

I don’t have this keyboard, but I presume it needs to have Local Control turned off – since it’s a performance keyboard it probably defaults to on so people don’t freak out when the show starts and it doesn’t produce sound.

Local Control ON means it receives directly from the keyboard, so you always heaar the sound it produces when you play on it.