Re-Dithering??

Friends,
I have a book by Matt Hepworth on Wave Lab. He says that even if your clips are 16 bit / 44.1 in the montage for CD burn, it’s a good idea to use dithering again. The reason he says is because of the 32 bit engine in WaveLab. Is this needed? If all my clips have been edited and rendered in WL and I know their sample and bit why should I dither again? Any reason why this is a good idea ? I’m new to WaveLab … I’v been a Bias user until the company died.
Thanks

Mike

You need to dither if you have made any change (fade in/out, level change). If you have truly not changed the files in the montage, then you do not need to dither (going to float and back to 16-bit integer is an exact process and so doesn’t affect this decision - that statement is wrong).

It is rare to have a recording that is quiet enough that the noise from an extra application of dither is significant. My first commercial studio recording was of piano music, made in 16-bit (recorded on DAT), and then edited in a 16-bit program (CoolEdit-96) which added a new layer of dither for each operation resulting in a dozen dithers for some tracks - the end result was praised for its transparency in the first review.

Paul

One way to know is to use the bit-meter: if there are more than 16 bits, then some processing occurs somewhere and dithering is needed. Else it is not needed.

Thanks for the reply… I plan on doing all my editing and rendering to each clip… then load files to montage and prep for CD burn.
If I may follow up on a another question concerning Dither… I work in PT 10 and have used WAVES IDR and Pro Tools re sampler to get the song to 44.1 . I have also used BIAS. I want to try WaveLab’s re sampler and uv 22 instead of the IDR with noise shape. Have you had any success with WaveLab in this area. Thanks again for everyone’s expert input.

Mike

I don’t recommend dithering the individual clips. Dither the montage, at the end, instead.