Reading Values In Processor::setState (IBStream* state)

I’m new to VST3 and trying to read back values from a saved preset. This works fine in the Contoller::setState(IBStream*state) method but any attempt to do so in the Processor::setState function bails out with an error, e.g. basic code like-

IBStreamer streamer (state, kLittleEndian);

float TestVal0 = 0;

if (streamer.readFloat(TestVal0) == false)
{
return kResultFalse; //Read failed
}

It’s like the state variable contains no content. I’m presuming that since this function is called before the controller’s setState it’s so that one can read the values saved in the preset into the processor. Is even this assumption correct?

Tearing my few remaining hairs out over this. Any pointers on what I may be doing wrong? As I said, the same code works fine in the Controller’s setState. I don’t want to use a kludge like passing the parameters via global variables or the like, as that doesn’t seem to be “in the spirit of the thing”.

The controller and processor have their own set/getState methods. So you can store both sides. The controller in addition gets the processor state via IEditController::setComponentState.

Hi Arne, thanks for replying! I’m aware they have their own methods, the problem is that I can’t seem to do anything with the variable “state” passed into the processor:SetState() method. I can read the values from it find in the controller:setState() method, but not so the processor’s setState(method). I just can’t get any kind of understanding of why.

streamer.readFloat(var) just returns false.

You read the state in the controller with IEditController::setState and write the state with IEditController::getState. For the processor it is IComponent::setState and IComponent::getState. You cannot read the state from the editcontroller in the processors setState method.