Record on Mac Transfer to PC

Hey All - I am brand new to Cubase and this forum so if I have this in the wrong spot please let me know. I appreciate any and all help given!

A brief story - I have a Mackie 1640 (the older version…not the 1640i) with the firewire card that we use for our main live mixer. I originally bought it so we could record all the shows and eventually (now) for studio applications. I recently bought an older Mac G5 (I have had or used a Mac before either!). The only other computer I have is a fairly new laptop (running Intel i3 and Windows 7 64 bit) but it doesn’t have a firewire port or PCI slot to add one. So, I bought the Mac because it had firewire and every one I talked to recommended using it for the recording/mastering stuff. So being new to both Cubase and Mac, I overlooked the operating system/computer requirements. The Mac is running OS 10.5.8 so I bought Cubase 6 Elements AND Mac OS 10.6 (Snow Leopard I think). The problem I ran into is that the hardware in the Mac won’t allow for any newer OS. So now I have Cubase 6 that I can’t run on the Mac and a laptop that doesn’t have a firewire port to connect to the mixer (it’s been a long couple weeks of trail and, well…lots of, error!!!

Though I am new to Cubase, I have used Mixcraft and Pro Tools in the past and I am pretty well versed in PC hardware and applications. I have scoured the web looking for an interface to connect the laptop to the mixer…no luck here. I have found AD/DA converters that I can use with the DB25 outs on the mixer but I’d have to have a pretty large, thus expensive, one to get the same 16 channels simultaneously that the firewire card already provides. I am afraid that my only firewire option is to load Cubase 5 (or older) on the Mac.