Recording a digital piano

Although I have had Cubase a while, I am no expert.
I should like other peoples perspective on simply recording a digital piano.

I have a Roland RD_700NX. Its a very decent piano, it uses Roland’s Supernatural, physical modelling tech. I use the Concert Grand. This is solo Jazz with impro.

This is my go to sound, I use it every day. I recently decided I am ready to record myself.

Its already set up and I understand Cubase pretty much. I just don’t have mucjh experience recording piano.

I suppose its Audio in at correct level, from the piano, and maybe a MIDi feed too - silenced, perhaps a little reverb and that’s it?

Its really that simple? Any particular VST to enhance? I am seeking a pure sound, so at present I would say no.

Z

Would appreciate any other tips

I use an RD 300nx, basically the same thing (with a smaller sound ROM that includes a more limited selection besides the pianos, which are identical to those of your 700nx.)

I think the RD’s grand piano is pretty good for practicing, playing at night with headphones and for the stage (IMHO the action is even better than that of a typical dedicated 88-key weighted controller. I believe it feels more natural to a trained pianist.) But it’s no match for a really good virtual instrument when I’m working with my DAW. In that case, the rd300nx only acts as a controller for Ivory II, which I believe is still top dog. The Fazioli (Italian Grand) is probably your best option if you play jazz, as it’s shinier at high dynamics than the Steinway, Bosendorfer and Yamaha that come with the Ivory II collection. If I’m not using the Fazioli, American Concert D is my favorite (unfortunately, it’s a separate library not included with the Ivory II collection.)

Besides, using virtual instruments instead of inputting sound from your RD into Cubase saves you the trouble to set up MIDI management, audio levels and FX.