Recording MIDI and audio on Cubase from a remote computer

Hi,

I make my living composing and producing music for audiovisual media. On a few occasions, I’ve had a new job offer with a tight deadline while being on vacation or away from the studio and it’s always a bummer having to say not to these offers, especially with remote software being available.

I’ve found out about Teamviewer and similar software that allows you to use your computer remotely. I know I can you use Teamviewer from my laptop in order to access my studio computer to use Cubase for editing and mixing purposes.

But I’m not so sure about actually performing, recording MIDI & audio, etc from my laptop (via soundcard, MIDI keyboard, etc) into my studio computer’s Cubase.

I’m concerned about latency issues as well as the studio computer “accepting” MIDI and audio input coming from my laptop, ie, having the laptop be my audio/MIDI interface and master computer while Cubase runs in my studio computer as a slave.

I know VST Connect is a software that could do this, but I understand it’s designed so that 2 people are involved (one recording from a studio, another performing from wherever), not one.

Although it sounds technically challenging I thought I could maybe use Teamviewer AND VST Connect Pro at the same time. So that I can be both recorder and performer at the same time. But I’m wondering if there’s an easier solution.

Not sure if I’m making myself understood:

I basically want to use a remote laptop to do everything I do from the studio, ie, not just mixing and editing but actually PERFORMING (recording MIDI and audio) and have the studio computer be the slave computer. Does that sound like something feasible?

Thanks!

Personally I think you’d be better with a mobile rig and a studio rig.