Recording tips for beginners

I wanted to start a thread for the beginners (I consider myself one) to get some basic, common, tips.

What do you veterans think about reverb? Is it common for beginners to add a bunch?

I think it gets over used because when a beginner records the first guitar track of a song and listens to it, they want it to sound fuller, wants to cover mistakes in playing, and wants to even out the notes dynamically (doesn’t understand how to use a compressor yet). Then as they add more tracks they need to match reverb and the mix gets muddy very quickly. Of course, the solution is to wait until all the instruments are in the mix and (probably) start with ZERO reverb and then add a little bit at a time.

I can remember when I started playing, I loved reverb, heavy distortion, chorus, etc. because it made me sound better. There is a point where you realize you sound better without all the noise. Don’t get me wrong, effects should be used but should be very targeted in their purpose.

So… TIP #1: TURN OFF ALL THE REVERB AND BALANCE YOUR MIX FIRST, THEN ADD A LITTLE AT A TIME.

What say you experts?
Sincerely,
J.L.

Aloha

+1
Very often (also in life) ‘less is more’.

IMHO
Treat your music like you would treat a woman that you dearly loooooove.

Don’t overdo it.
{'-"}

Also learning. Some advice I considered good, from various sources, is to compare your music to a reference track that you would consider a worthy example of the style of your music. Even go so far as to import the track into your Cubase project so you can do a quick a/b comparison. Remember to lower the volume of the reference track so it’s roughly the same as your mix, otherwise you will be fooled by loudness, which you don’t want to mess with until you are done mixing.

Comparing to a reference track not only helps to assess the level of reverb (and it’s probably going to be less than in your own mix), but every other aspect - tonal balance, stereo field, instrument balance, etc.