Rogue midi message shuts off sound in Kontakt

I’m working on a classical piece at the moment where I have one instance of Kontakt running feeding 6 midi tracks with brass, piano etc. They all run fine except the String ensemble. Yesterday I’d been working on this song for a couple of hours when the sound on the strings suddenly disappeared. Then I reloaded and I had sound again.

Today it has started to do that all the time making working on this piece impossible. Because I’m not a midi expert I don’t understand how this is possible.

I tried exporting the midi file and recreated the project on another computer but the exact same thing happened, so it must be some kind of midi message built into the file. The question is how it got there and how I make it go away forever?

If anyone can figure this one out it would be very cool!

Does the sound stop playing when you play back the same bit every time? That way you can find out where exactly the bad boy is hiding. Once you found that spot, open the midi part in the list editor and see if you can find it and delete it from there.

yeah, it does or did stop at the same place, I fixed the problem. I deleted that particular midi event where it was happening. I then switched midi keyboard from an Oxygen 61 to a much simpler one and there haven’t been any trouble since.

But can you define what you mean by “bad boy”? I would like to know how this sort of thing can happen? I guess my midi keyboard must have sent a message to Kontact to turn off the sound. Not to turn the volume down but to just shut it off, which I don’t get.

With all respect, the problem is clearly not related to either Cubase or Kontakt. I would respectfully suggest you rename the subject from “Big Kontakt 4 problem in Cubase” to something like “I recorded something into Cubase that caused a track to mute”.