Roland Fantom X6 and Cubase Elements 10.5

Hello to this great community,

I’m using cubase for ages but I’m not experienced with external instruments and midi at all. I’ve watched several videos during these years and studied a few things. I’ve recently bought a used Roland Fantom X6. I’m using a Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen as an audio interface. What I want to do is to just simply record midi from fantom into Cubase and the bounce every track to audio. I will give you guys an explanation of my setup. Midi In from Fantom goes to Midi Out on Scarlett, Midi Out from Fantom goes to Midi In on Scarlett. I’ve also connected audio L-R Stereo out from Fantom to Scarlett’s input. I have sound which is a good sign and whatever I do on the Fantom can be heared in my speakers. The issue is that I have no MIDI activity in cubase, I can’t see any MIDI Signal from Fantom to Cubase. I did several tries with settings that I’ve seen in videos from Steinberg’s official youtube channel but without result. Do you think that it might be the settings in Fantom X?

Thanks in advance.

Hi and welcome to the forum,

The easiest would be connect Fantom via USB directly to the computer. Then you can select Fantom as the MIDI Input/Out. In your case, you have to select Focusrite as your MIDI Input/Out. Did you do this?

Hello Martin,

Thanks for your fast reply. I didn’t try to connect the fantom via USB. I thought that it will work through MIDI IN/OUT only. If I will connect my Fantom via USB, do I have to keep the midi cables connected as well? I’ve checked the MIDI Device Manager inside cubase and the midi ports are mapped and active (Focusrite MIDI IN and Focusrite MIDI OUT), although I’ve selected midi in and out on the midi track but without success. There might be something that I haven’t understand or it might be something that I have to check on Fantom.

Hi,

No, you don’t.

How did you set this up, please? Do you have a screenshot.