Sample rates

Does anyone still record at 44.1Khz?
If so, why?
Are you going to release the music on a physical CD?
Does anyone still do this?
I do lots of mixing and production for many clients and when they send me the stems, they are nearly always still at 44.1Khz, unless I remember to tell them to send them with a 48Khz/24bit spec.
So it seems that many people are still stuck in the old CD standard and even have their music creation apps set at 44.1Khz!

Hi,

Do you hear a difference comparing 44.1 vs 48kHz?

1 Like

I use 44.1kHz mostly because I don’t want to have some Projects at one sample rate and others at another.

I’ve been working with audio for 35 years - I can’t really tell the difference. Then again maybe I’m going deaf…

44.1khz for music production
48khz for TV/film

As the previous poster said - I prefer to stick to those rules so I don’t get confused and mix up my sample rates in projects.

Bring back 1/4 inch tape :wink:

1 Like

Streaming services are where people consume the most music today. And almost all of them only accept 44.1 kHz, so there you go.
I mix in 48kHz and export in 44.1.

2 Likes

The difference is when mixing, you have more margin below Nyquist at 48 kHz and it is less prone to aliasing.

For the final export there will be no difference between 44.1 and 48, since aliasing is generated during mixing, it will be printed in the file, regardless of the sample rate in which you export, so it is necessary to set the project and record at higher sample rates in first place to avoid aliasing.

1 Like

Bingo! Was going to say the same thing. Record at the higher sample rates and bit rates then when you are mixing or using processing affects you won’t lose a lot. By nature, processing on the audio file is destructive. This gives you more head room with higher rates.

1 Like

Hi,

Then I recommend to record in the double Sample Rate of the expected result.