Sampling

Hello everyone. I am new to Halion 5. can anyone here please walk me through the process of how you can sample audio from a record.
I come from an MPC background and I just got Halion so I can do everything without having to leave my computer.
I am sequencing in Cubase 8.5.

Thank you in advance

Although Steinberg calls it a ‘sampler’, Halion is not a sampler in the traditional (Akai S900 etc) sense - It can not actually sample anything. What it does is load and manipulate existing audio samples. It is really just a sample player.

You have to record the samples with something else (Cubase, Wavelab, portable recorder etc.) and then load them in to Halion.

I bought Halion-5 a couple of years ago, but I’ve never been excited enough by it to actually use it. Maybe one day :slight_smile:

It just seems very complex and un-intuitive, with a big learning curve. I find I use Kontakt all the time instead, mainly due to the huge number of sample packages available.

As mentioned above Halion 5 has no real input directly in to it’s samplebank.That is a niggle indeed, and so you can’t f.e. route signals from cubase directly in to it. The comparison with Kontakt is correct in that sense. But for me kontakt is way less user friendly then Halion, but that is another discussion.

Except the input Halion is functionwise a complete sampler, and you load in (already recorded) samples from anywhere you want.
You can drag and drop them from browsers or from main workflow windows or the internal browser.
From there one you start working with the sample mapping, and then you connect it to the synth engine or even combine it with the other synth/drum engines that are delivered in Halion 5. The tree is key to working with Halion, and understanding it’s menu structure is vital. (as with any synth)