Saving Files in Dorico

Hello all,

I am new to Dorico and just getting started. I am happy I made the switch. I went through John’s getting started PDFS and just looking and searching through the forum to learn. I noticed that my files are being saved in the “backup projects” folder. I’ve attached a picture to show you what I am seeing. In the picture, are the files in the “backup projects” copies of the files on the left? Also, I am curious why the “scales worksheet” was saved in the “backup projects” file?

I know in Sibelius, I had a problem with the files being saved in the backup folder, and then those files were deleted after a certain point, which became a problem for me. I am curious if this is something similar I am experiencing, or if I am saving my files in the wrong manner? Thanks for the help.

You must have made a change on the Files page of Preferences to set the Backup Projects location to be the same as the default project save location. Make sure they’re set to different values: by default, Dorico sets the Backup Projects folder to be inside the Dorico Projects folder, which goes in your user documents folder by default.

Thanks for the response. I am a little confused still, I will send you a PM to clarify, thank you!

Hi Daniel,

Here is a better screenshot. It looks like everything is set up correctly- as you stated the Backup folder is inside the Dorico Projects folder, but all of my files are being saved in the Dorico projects folder, I guess I was looking at it wrong. Does this look correct? Thanks.

This looks correct.