saving in specified dorico folder

Hello,

I’m new to dorico and really happy i switched from sibelius. However, the only annoying thing i cannot seem to find an answer too is that everytime i save an existing project dorico saves it the main folder which results in a duplicate. I’d like to organise my material by artist within the main dorico folder. So right now everytime i hit cmd+S i need to delete my old file in the artist folder and drag the newly saved project to the artist folder. Does anyone know a solution to this? Would be greatly appreciated (i’m a bit of an organise freak).

Cheers!

Welcome to the forum, Dom. When you first save a project (by choosing File > Save or typing Command-S), you will be prompted which location to save it into, but after you’ve made that choice the first time you should find that subsequent invocations of Command-S simply overwrite the version of the project you last saved. I think the key is to make sure you choose the right location the first time, and then everything will be OK after that.

To get out of the loop you might be in now, try closing the project in Dorico, then in the Finder move the project to the folder you want it to be located in permanently, and then reopen it by double-clicking it from that location. Now when you do Command-S, that will be the file that gets updated/replaced.

This worked! Thank you so much for the help!

Hello
For the first time I am writing to a forum. After Cubase and Finale I’ve been working with dorico for years, I have long dreamed of such a program. And I want to ask : Each time Dorico reloads, I reopen the current project from the recents and after some editing try to save Ctrl. S, Dorico again asks where to save the project. No more asking a second time. So it must be, or if I don’t know something?

Many thanks
Sincerely
Sigitas Stalmokas