Scoring with Cubase and Finale

Hello all,

I am a composer studying at Dalhousie university in Nova Scotia, currently in my last year. I am writing a couple pieces this year for orchestra and I’ve been reading up and trying a few options recently for scoring with Cubase and external programs (in my case, finale). My workflow at the moment is to write everything in Cubase 8 Pro and then create a score and parts using finale 2012. I have tried both exporting MIDI and exporting musicXML. I have read in a few places that MusicXML is the way to go as it exports more detailed information in the score. Personally, however, I have found that MIDI exports are much cleaner when imported into Finale. MusicXML seems to not be encoding tempi, time signatures, clefs, and even instrument names! I can work with MIDI imports but there must be a more efficient way.

I guess my question is, has anyone found a consistent way of transporting scores between the two programs? Is there something I should do to my Cubase score before exporting musicXML?

Any help would be much appreciated!

Thanks! :slight_smile:

If you learn a bit about what MusicXML is, you’ll be able to figure this out. In brief, it only deals with the appearance of your score, no MIDI info is contained in MusicXML files.

MIDI does not contain much visual info, but it of course has all the MIDI data in your project, and with Finale’s playback prefs set properly, will sound the same as it did in Cubase.

I have low expectations when I export using MusicXML from Cubase. I have found that using by only using Note Layer text I can get predictable results. Note that the text in the musicxml file will be converted into Expressions in Finale, which is fairly useful.

Thanks for the reply!