Scrubbing MIDI (and workarounds)

Is there any hope of getting the Scrub function for MIDI? I am a composer of “contemporary classical” music and frequently find myself needing to audit vertical sonorities of complex chords. Temporarily slowing down the tempo is not an option. I have been resorting to exporting my work to Pro Tools and using its Scrub MIDI tool. For all the phenomenal MIDI tools Cubase offers, I can’t believe the Scrub tool is missing.

Are you aware that when you hold ctrl/cmd and click on a note in a chord the entire chord sounds?

Yes, scrubbing midi would be great to have in the key and score editor.

Yes. The ctrl/cmd + click option only works for one instrument at a time. I have many instruments playing simultaneously.

The scrub tool does work for MIDI, as I use it plenty in the timeline, with the “edit-in-place” enabled for that track.

Are you talking about the (9) tool? i.e.

Or do you mean if you scrub the transport as a whole using a jog wheel, such as on an MCU?

Yes, it’s true you can use the scrub tool in the project view, but scrubbing in the project view still only can do one track at a time.

Big feature request.

1 Like

Yes, I am in the Key Editor 99% of the time so I can see all the instruments (individual notes) at once.

I added the feature request tag. It would be a wonderful thing to have.

2 Likes

Have you tried the “Edit-in-place” views available on each track? It allows you to edit MIDI within the project view. I sometimes find it easier when working with multiple instruments as I don’t always want them overlayed but do like to edit in context.

And of course you can scrub MIDI in that view too. Not saying it’s an answer - As Steve has pointed out already, but rather a tip that it exists, if you’re unaware.

May I ask why? Maybe there are usable workarounds in your context.

Something like: