Second Orchestral Piece

Hi All!

This is my second ever full orchestral piece written on Dorico Pro 3 called The Independence Suite!
I’ve been composing for a little over 9 months now and I was hoping if I could get some criticism on my writing!

Youtube Link:

Score PDF: (transposed pitch)

Well done. This goes way beyond my capability to comment. I think this piece should really be performed by a live orchestra so that it would really get alive.

Just go on composing.

Thank you so much!

Hi Arven,

A very impressive effort! Especially if you are such a newbie at composition. Thanks for sharing the score. It’s very clear and shows your ideas well. Please keep working at your composition.

From my point of view, the music is a bit obvious. That is, it’s very much like John Williams and his film music in particular. If that’s your thing then go for it. What I’m wanting to say here is that I would love you to have your own voice. You clearly have the theory and a really good sense of structure, balance and understanding with your orchestrations. So, let your inner ear out, you don’t have to write what has already been written. Explore the orchestra, test different harmonies and rhythms. Give me Arven, not John.

Hope this makes sense

All the best

Jonathan

Thanks for the response!

The piece sounding like John Williams makes sense, since I started out composition because of him, but I do actively try to find my own voice. But it’s hard for me since whenever I go on the piano, I just keep playing the same things over and over again and only rarely do I break free of my muscle memory and play something new. Do you have any tips on finding your own voice or dealing with writers block?