Seeking tips/guidance for composing and scoring

Hi, I hope it is ok for me to post this here.
I’ll try to make it simple:
I’ve been composing and scoring through the years but never had a DAW.
When I finally started using Cubase I’d import the midi files I scored.
After a year I started getting good VST libraries and ended up composing more and more directly on Cubase because the VSTs are inspiring.
But I have a problem with that.
These pieces made with the VSTs are drafts and they aren’t scorable: completely off-beat etc so I can’t simply import it to Dorico for instance and I can’t really see what I was doing.
I have no musical education background at all and I can’t work with the metronome, been playing for too long without and never used it.
So for a score I manually reassigned every note on Cubase so it fits and may be exported to Dorico but the process took a lot of time.
I thought maybe I should always score with Dorico or another software (I don’t read music too…been actually using guitar pro to score because it has a virtual keyboard you may use to input notes)
I hope I managed to make it clear and would really appreciate some tips.
I’m sure that’s an issue that many people might have.
And
when I compose I don’t just play chords arpeggios or whatever so it is very difficult to remember or to listen and simply be like “I see I was doing a C chord and that…” therefore it is important for me to have it scored.
Best

Hi Bik,

Thanks for sharing your difficulties. As a teacher of music in a high school I see this situation every now and then. The trained musician inside of me wonders how anyone who wants to compose doesn’t work at even basic theory to get the tools, so to speak. But then I hear their ideas and I can see what they want and we work together to get the desired result.