Sharing Projects : Compatibility

Assume a Cubase technical level of not a lot. I am a musician not a Sound Engineer. For some time I have been working collaboratively on Cubase Projects. Assume more or less the same software setup (Cubase Pro 10, VST’s, Samples, etc), but different hardware. Most of the time this works seamlessly. Occasionally minor tweaking with the Audio configuration due to different Audio Adapters, but even that has not been a big deal. Easily dealt with.

Basically we do not have a problem sharing Projects. We exchange them, load them, work on them, and exchange them. Have been for years.

But… the Nerd in me (I am a PC Technician) has a question which would need a level of knowledge beyond mine. Occasionally I notice an issue with latency (MIDI and Audio) that say wasn’t there before a swap but is after, so to cut a longer story short:

Is there anything embedded in a Project which might cause it to perform differently when run on another System? If the answer is no, then job done.

Grabbing a thought out of the air, how much configuration is saved with the Project which will be specific to the System that it was created on or edited on? For example Audio Driver/Adapter/Cubase Setup/etc. The implication being what might happen running it on a different System? Residual Code that could be compromising.

As I said, 99% of the time there is no problem or issue that cannot be resolved quickly and easily. Even swapping Projects from PC to Mac and vice versa. But there is this Gremlin whispering in my ear, and I want the bugger to go away… :wink:

Almost all the time people encounter latency issues is either due to plugin delays or hardware buffer size. Next thing is, if your collaborator adds plugins to the project while he is mixing, he will most likely not notice the latency, if you then open the project with these h plugins to record a new part, the latency will become very apparent to you.