Sharpness of the spectrum

Where does it come from that the sharpness of the display decreases when you increase the FFT size? I always thought that the higher the FFT size, the finer the displayable gradations should be.

I just fiddled with FFT size and didnā€™t notice any difference in display sharpness after I raised the FFT value.

FFT is a strange thing. powerfull, certainly. very powerfull. but in ā€˜codeā€™, math, and i am not an expert, i ask developers, how things work, they replyā€¦ and read about itā€¦

FFT window size, it is also explained in the manual, because it is very important (and underlying for each sample there are 4 FFT blocks, or something like that, that overlap, so a lot of info, that represents the audio, and all must be interpreted for the situation, or use);

a bigger window size; as it stated in the manual how more frequence resolution you get, but you will loose time resolution, in the manual it stated -i repeat-, tonal parts are presented better, but transients less.

a smaller window size, better representation of transients (time), lesser representation/resolution for tonal (frequency).

this trade off is inherent to FFT. only experts or very acadamic theorists, perhaps, can solve this. or not.

you must see a different ā€˜sharpness of displayā€™, with each FFT window size, i.e. the size of how many samples FFT uses.

therefore SpectraLayers has Resolution and Refinement. to increase ā€˜sharpnessā€™, again it is a representation, and it depends on your needs and goals, how set these settings.
resolution, if i am right, introduces some ā€˜artefactsā€™, or was it refinement.

i am not very clear, i know. i try to write this, with all i understand, without consulting the docā€™s i have. or infoā€¦

but the bottom line: increasing FFT window size does increase resolution, or sharpness, for tonal/frrequency parts, but it does not look sharpā€¦, and decreasing, decreases resolution for tonal but increases resolution for time/transients.